[Previous: "Flag-waving."] [Main Index] [Next: "Elliptical."]


09/19/2001 Entry: "Nifsal Meachila."

Kosher gelatin can be made from fish bones, beef, Japanese insinglass, agar agar, carrageenan, and Irish moss.... Contrary to assumptions, it is also considered kosher to use animal-derived gelatin with dairy products. Unless it is specified as being derived from a non-animal source, such as agar agar and carrageenan, it is very possible that kosher gelatin is animal-derived."

As I suspected Kosher gelatin is routinely not vegetarian. And certifications of Pareve and Kosher Dairy nor Halal are no guarantees either.

I'm slowly trying to elimitate gelatin from my diet, but it's in freakin' everything. A number of candies, including Altoid mints. A tasty spinach dip I bought at the store. I just read the ingredients on the Planter's Dry Roasted Peanuts I've been snacking on, and there it is again. On my peanuts too? sigh

Replies: 2 comments

Tell me about it! Animal products are in everything! I can't even buy my beloved french fries without wondering if they were cooked in or contain animal fat for "flavor."

Giving up dairy is the most difficult part though. I *love* cheese. :(

Posted by Katrina @ 09/19/2001 02:13 PM PST

Darn gelatin! Darn it all to heck. It's such a pain in the ass finding out what it's in.

Posted by Jason @ 09/21/2001 10:54 AM PST

[Main Index]

Powered By Greymatter

Copyright 2000, Ultramundane.com